Are you sure you don't want to finilize your Prada account?
Your wish list is empty
Your shopping bag is empty
Special Projects
America's Cup by Prada

The 36th America's Cup Presented by PRADA

To win the 36th America's Cup presented by Prada you first have to win the PRADA Cup

lot image

36th America’s Cup

'Tap to discover'
Prada Cup

Prada Cup



The 36th edition of the America’s Cup, the oldest trophy in international sports and the pinnacle of sailing, saw Prada as Title and Presenting Sponsor, a natural evolution of PRADA’s extraordinary involvement in the sailing world.

The event was held in Auckland, New Zealand starting on March 10. The Defender, Emirates Team New Zealand, successfully defended its title, beating the Challenger Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli. Vying for the PRADA Cup, the series of challenger match races preceding the final event, were Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli along with INEOS TEAM UK and New York Yacht Club American Magic. 

Discover all the phases of the 36th America's Cup.

The Prada Cup

The PRADA Cup is a series of races for the selection of the Challenger: the winner earns the right to challenge the Defender Emirates Team New Zealand, the holder of America’s Cup, in a final match with the best out of thirteen races. Therefore, Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli, winner of the PRADA Cup, will challenge Emirates Team New Zealand starting March 10, 2021. 

The PRADA Cup, handcrafted by one of the best silversmiths in Florence, was created by world-renowned designer Marc Newson. It is housed in a luxurious Saffiano leather case handcrafted in Prada workshops by its leather-working experts and inspired by the elegant, refined steamer trunks produced by Prada in the last century.
Emirates Team New Zealand NZL

Emirates Team New Zealand (NZL)

Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli Team ITA

Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli Team (ITA)

NYYC American Magic USA

NYYC American Magic (USA)

Ineos Team UK GBR


The best sailing
teams in the world

Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli and Emirates Team New Zealand are the two teams with the longest tradition in the history of the America’s Cup. They both grew over the years and have already met several times: the first time was in 2000 when Luna Rossa competed in the final match of the 30th America’s Cup They met again in 2007 and in 2013, in the challengers’ final.

Emirates Team New Zealand (NZL) Emirates Team New Zealand represents the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron and is the current Defender of America’s Cup. The New Zealander team won the grand trophy four times: in 1995 and 2017 as the Challenger, in 2000 and in 2021 as the Defender of the title. New Zealand won the Challenger Selection Series four times (1995, 2007, 2013, 2017). 

Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli Team (ITA) Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli is the Italian team that represented the “Circolo della Vela Sicilia” Yacht Club in the challenge for the 36th America's Cup presented by PRADA. The team, created in 1997, won the Challenger Selection Series on its debut in the 1999/2000 edition and challenged the Defender, Team New Zealand, for the 30th America's Cup. The team participated in the 2003, 2007, 2013, and 2021 editions of America's Cup, qualifying for the final of the Challenger Selection Series four times out of five. 

The AC75
The flying monohull

The AC75 opens up an exciting new era for America’s Cup racing: a bold, modern vision of high-performance, fully foiling monohull racing boats. The AC75 is a boat 23 meters long with extraordinary performance, capable of sailing above water level using its two lateral movable fins called foils. It can reach a speed of 50 knots and almost 100 km/h also thanks to an innovative “soft wing” sail plan. The system consists of two mainsails hoisted in parallel, inside which the controls of the sail shape are inserted. This achieves an efficiency equal to a rigid wing but with an ease of use and manageability similar to that of a traditional wing.

The America’s
Cup History

The America’s Cup, the pinnacle of yachting, was first held in 1851 making it the oldest trophy in international sports, predating the modern Olympic Games by 45 years.